Skip to content

Preseason WLAX Team Features Familiar Faces

Feb 6, 2014, 10:23 AM EDT

The CAA announced the 2014 preseason women’s lacrosse squad on Wednesday and not surprisingly, Hofstra junior April Iannetta and Towson senior Ashleigh Rohrback were named Co-Players of the Year. Iannetta was the 2013 Co-Defender of the Year, while Rohrback was last season’s Co-Player of the Year.

Also keep an eye on Amy Roguskie of James Madison, a senior who scored 34 goals as a junior (2.27 per game) and 41 points for the Dukes in 2013. Likewise, another dangerous offensive threat will be Hofstra junior attacker Brittain Altomare (a first-team coolest name member in my opinion), who was a IWLCA second-team Mid-Atlantic member last season after she set a new program record with 35 assists on top of scoring 34 goals.

Midfielders Caitlin McCartney of UD, Amanda Norcini of Drexel and Hofstra’s Becky Conto earned midfield All-CAA honors. Ali Curwin of JMU and Taelor Salmon of William & Mary were also named to the All-CAA squad as midfielders. JMU’s Lexi Cross, an All-CAA second-team defender in 2013 and the Dukes’ Schylar Healy, a first-team All-CAA goalkeeper last season, also made the 2014 preseason team.

To see the 2014 predicted order of finish that was announced on Tuesday, click here. The full 2014 preseason team is listed below.




Brittain Altomare, Hofstra, Jr.

Andi Raymond, Towson, Jr.

Amy Roguski, James Madison, Sr.

Ashleigh Rohrback, Towson, Sr.


Becky Conto, Hofstra, So.

Ali Curwin, James Madison, Jr.

Katie Leech, Towson, Sr.

Caitlin McCartney, Delaware, Jr.

Amanda Norcini, Drexel, Sr.

Taelor Salmon, William & Mary, Sr.


Lexi Cross, James Madison, Jr.

April Iannetta, Hofstra, Jr.

Kaitlin Sheridan, Towson, Sr.


Kelsea Donnelly, Towson, Jr.

Schylar Healy, James Madison, Jr.

Co-Players of the Year:

April Iannetta, Hofstra, Jr.

Ashleigh Rohrback, Towson, Sr.