Skip to content

Former Towson Golfer Castle Wins Mid-Am Championship Of Maryland

Aug 15, 2013, 2:02 PM EDT

Former Towson standout golfer and two-time CAA Player of the Year Jeff Castle won the 27th Mid-Amateur Championship of the Maryland State Golf Association at the Baltimore Country Club on Tuesday.

Castle, a current assistant coach for the Tigers, was the opening-day leader and added to his edge in his final round with a five-stroke lead. He eventually posted a one-under-par 70, to go along with a 36-hole total of 136 (-6) to claim the title.

“I hit it well and kept it in play,” Said Castle on the MSGA website following his final round. “On the first two holes, I hit two of my best iron shots to the greens. They were great and gave me confidence for the rest of the round. I avoided doubles and triples and when I got in trouble, I managed to be able to get out okay.”

The 29-year-old Castle, a 2007 graduate of Towson, was a four-time All-CAA selection and won the Player of the Year honors in back-to-back fashion from 2005-06. He is also a member of the CAA’s 25th Anniversary Team.