Skip to content

Pride Announces Its Hall Of Fame Class of 2013

Jan 2, 2013, 9:24 AM EDT

The Hofstra University Department of Athletics is pleased to announce the Hall of Fame Class of 2013. The class includes seven individual representing eight sports, as well as two teams. The group will be inducted at the 2013 Athletics Hall of Fame Dinner on Saturday, April 13, 2013, in the Hofstra University Club at 4 p.m. The inductees will also be recognized during halftime of that night’s men’s lacrosse game against the University of North Carolina.

“It is with great pleasure that we announce the Hofstra Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2013,” said Vice President and Director of Athletics Jeffrey A. Hathaway. “The seven individuals and two teams embody Hofstra Pride and further enhance an already-impressive Hall of Fame membership. The accomplishments of this group is something that all current and future Hofstra student-athletes should strive to emulate, as they truly represent Hofstra’s best of the best.”

Lena Malinowski – A volleyball student-athlete from 1994 to 1998.

Kathleen Mikowski – A women’s lacrosse student-athlete for four years (2000-03) and a three-year (1999-01) member of the women’s soccer team.

Greg Polli – A member of the baseball team from 1983 to 1986.

Norman Richardson – A men’s basketball student-athlete from 1997 to 2001.

Lance Schulters – A member of the football team for two years (1996 and 1997).

Doug Shanahan – A standout football and men’s lacrosse student-athlete, Shanahan was a four-year letterwinner for both programs between 1998 and 2001 and is the first two-sport, two-time All-American in Hofstra Athletics history.

Alicia Smith – softball student-athlete from 1997 to 2000.

The 1959-60 Men’s Basketball Team – Coached by Hall of Famer Butch van Breda Kolff. Team members include: Brant Alyes, Steve Balber, Curt Block, Mike Douglas, Steven Dunn, Stan Einbender, Adam Gadzinski, Richie Goldstein, Ted Jackson, Bob Lauster, John McGowan, Bob Stowers, Richie Swartz, Coach van Breda Kolff and Assistant Coach Paul Lynner.

The 1981-82 Women’s Basketball Team – Led by Coach Harvey Pyser. Team members include: Eileen Emmert, Sheryl Hall, Karen Hickson, Donna Hiroski, Liz Irwin, Amanda Johnson, Dia LaBella, Christine Lathuras, Diane Leonard, Dawn McGrath, Christine Morrow, Louisa Percudani, Myrna Pohl, Yvonne Risberg, Coach Pyser, Assistant Coach JoAnn Perricone, Assistant Coach Mary Jo Lorello and Manager Donna Jones.

For more information, including a photo gallery, on those set to be recognized by Hofstra later this spring visit